Our main goal is to teach our students basics of Indian Classical Dance, Kathak to its purest form. The curriculum has been developed over the years keeping in mind the requirements of the students growing up outside India. Some students start learning dance at 5 and some at the age of 55.

We believe that students need to be tested and certified by an External examiner in order to gauge their readiness and expertise against the set syllabus. This practice ensures fairness and performance against set norms. Thus, all examinations are conducted by an external certified examiner of ABGM.

There is a Primary Examination and six Graded Examinations, guiding a student progressively towards perfection in presentation of Kathak Dance technique and repertoire.

Helpie FAQ

  • First Exam: Prarambhik

    Total Points: 50 (Practical 40 points, Theory 10- points), passing points: 17

    • Introduction of Teentaal.
    • Introduction of Kathak Nritya (Dance), in 5 sentences.
    • Introduction of yourself, Guru and center, in 5 sentences.
    • Definitions: Laya, Vilambit Laya, Madhya Laya, Druta Laya, Matra (beat), Sum, Tali and Khali and Taal “Teentaal”.
    • Five Tatkaars in Taal Teentaal and double speed of it.
    • Ten Todas and four Chakradhar Toda’s in Tal Teentaal
    • Vocal demonstration of Taal using hands and it’s double and four times of its speed
    • Any two modern dances

  • Second Exam: Praveshika Pratham

    Total Points: 75 (Practical 60 points, Theory 15 ponits), passing points: 25

    • Definitions: Laya (Barabar, Dugun, Chaugun), Sam, Matra, Tali, Khali, Gat-Nikas, Tatkaar, Tora, Gat-Palata and Baant.
    • Taal: Identify the signs of Bhatkhande notations.
    • Knowledge of Dadara and Kaharawa taal.
    • Names of 5 current Kathak Gurus.
    • As per Abhinaya Darpan: knowledge of below A-Sanyunkta Hast Mudras and their usages:
      Pataka, Tri-Pataka, Ardh-Pataka, Kartari-Mukham, Mayur, Ardha-Chandra, Aral, Shuktunda, Mushti, Shikhar
    Rangmanch Pranam 1
    Thaat 2
    Sada Aamad 1
    Tore 6
    Chakkradar Tore 2
    Paran 2

    Seethi Gat, Mataki Gat, Bansuri Gat

    • Tatkaar in Barabar, Dugun and Chaugun with Tihayee
    • Parhant of each and every Tora/tukra
    • Parhant of Teentaal theka in Barabar(Dhah), Dugun and Chaugun
    • Teentaal: 4 variations of Tatkaar ki Baant.
    • In Kaharwa or Dadara taal, one Abhinay song. Should be able to sing too

    Knowledge and definition of following terms such as Laya (slow, medium and fast), Sum, Matra, Tali, Khali, Gatnikas, Tatkar, Toda, Gatpatta, Thaat, Salami (Rangmanch Pranam), Baat and Tukada

    To understand the sign of Taals
    Brief history of Kathak Nritya (dance)

    • Dance presentation in Taal Teentaal: One Salami, One Amad, Six Todas (New), Two Chakradhar Todas, Four Gatnikas (Normal, Matki, Bansuri and ghungat)
    • Tattkar – double and four times the speed
    • Clap-marked vocal demonstration of all Todas learned
    • Palte/Baat in Taal Teentaal
    • Clap-marked vocal demonstration of Taal Dadra and Taal Kherwa

  • Third Exam: Praveshika Purna

    Total Points: 125 (Practical 75 points, Theory 50 ponits),

    • Teentaal – That, one Amad, one Salami, four different Todas, two Paran, four Chakradhar Todas, one Chakradhar Paran, two Kavit Should be able to do Padhant of all bols on hands
    • Able to show all the hand gestures in dance
    • Jhaptal: One That, one Amad, one Tehai, oen Toda, one Chakradhar Toda, one Paran
    • Gatnikas – plain, Matki, Basuri, Mor-Mukut, Ghunghat
    • Gat Bhaav – breaking of Matki
    • One Folk dance

  • Fourth Exam: Madhyama Pratham

    Total: 200, Min: 70
    Theory: 75, Min: 26
    Practical: 125, Min: 44


    In Teentaal, special capabilities of:
    Thaat ( 3 differet poses)
    2 Aamad (1 sada + 1 Paranjudi)
    3 Chakkardar Tore (mim 4 Avartan)
    3 Paran (1 must be in Tisra Jati)
    3 Chakkardar Paran
    2 Kavitt
    3 Ginti ki tihayee

    In Tatkaar:
    aadhi, Barabar, Dugun, Tigun, Chaugun, Aathgun… Axpantion of Baant or challan

    In JhapTaal, special capabilities of:

    2 Thaat 1 Paran-judi-Aamad
    1 Salami 3 Sada Tore (mim 3 avartan)
    2 Chakkardar Tore 2 Paran
    2 Chakkradaar Paran 1 Kavitt
    3 Tihayee Tatkaar, in barabar, Digin chuagun end with Tihayee

    In Ektaal:

    1 Thaat 1 Aamad
    2 Tore 1 Chakkardar Tora
    1 Paran 1 Chakkradar Paran
    1 Tihayee Tatkaar in Barabar, Dugun, Chaugun end with Tihayee.

    In Teentaal:
    GatNikas – Jhoomar (Mangteeka), Kalayee,
    Mataki holding in 3 different ways.
    Gatbhav: Makhan Chori
    Abhinay Paksh: BHav nritya on a Bhajan or Bhaktiras song or pad.

  • Fifth Exam: Madhyama Poorn

    Total: 250, Min: 88
    Theory: 100, Min: 35
    Practical: 150, Min: 53

    • Shiv Vandana or Krishna Vandana
    • In Teentaal, with specialties:
    1 Uthan, 1 Thaat, 1 Aamad, 1 Pramelu,
    1 Natawari-tora, 1 Farmaishi-chakkradar (1st dha on 1st sam, 2nd dha on 2nd sam and 3rd dha on 3rd sam).
    1 Ganesh Paran, 1 Tatkaar- Lari (Takit Takit Ghin)

    1. In Rupak Taal:

    1 Thaat 1 Sada Aamad 4 Sada- Tore 2 Chakkradar Tore
    2 Paran 2 Chakkradar Paran 2 Tohayee 1 Kavitt
    Tatkaar: Barabar, Dugun and Chaugun (end with Tihayee)

    1. In Ektaal:

    2 Thaat 1 Paran-judi-aamad
    4 tore 2 Chakkradar Tore
    2 Paran 2 Chakkradar Paran
    1 Kavitt 3 Tihayee
    Tatkaar – Barabar, Dugun Tigun Chaugun end with Tihayee

    1. Parhant of each and every composition done above.
    2. GatNikas: Rukhsaar, Cher-char, Aanchal etc.
    3. GatBhav- Kaliya Mardan
    4. Bhav nritya on Hori Pad (Kanahiya ghar chalo guinya…. In details

  • Sixth Exam: Visharad Pratham


  • Seventh Exam: Visharad Poorn


  • Certification
    We offer a range of levels to suit all students starting from basic introduction classes upto senior level classes . The students are placed in classes based on their skill and level of certification.

    Levels of Certification :

    Syllabus covers 7 levels of certification and the teachings are geared up to meet the expectations of the programme :

    • (Level 1) Prarambhik
    • (Level 2) Praveshika Pratham
    • (Level 3) Praveshika Purna
    • (Level 4) Madhyama Pratham
    • (Level 5) Madhyama Purna
    • (Level 6) Upantya Visharad
    • (Level 7) Visharad Purna

    © 2021 Kathak Beats. All Rights Reserved.
    error: Content is protected !!